Swimsafer 2.0

Swimsafer 2.0

swimsafer 2.0 new criteria

New Swimsafer 2.0 Programme Criteria

SwimSafer is a national water safety programme in Singapore introduced in July 2010 by the National Water Safety Council (NWSC), a council appointed by the then Ministry of Community, Youth and Sports (MCYS). In end 2017, the swimsafer syllabus have been revised. All swimsafer test will now follow the test criteria of Swimsafer 2.0 as stated in this post.

SwimSafer 2.0, the enhanced programme, will provide participants with a more rigourous water survival and swimming competency programme. The revamped programme comes with a revised syllabus and assessment approach, together with enhanced instructor quality through training and re-certification to provide quality learning for participants. It also incorporates an online quiz on water safety knowledge for participants to consolidate their learning. Parents may access the swimsafer 2.0 online theory test here: https://members.myactivesg.com/swimsafer/

Want to start your swimming journey with Swimmerse?

Enroll here : https://www.swimmerse.com/swimmerse-other-location-registrations/

All the answers for the swimsafer 2.0 online test can be found at Swimmerse Website at : https://www.swimmerse.com/swimsafer-2-0-theory-question-and-answers/

Key changes in Swimsafer 2.0 syllabus includes:

  • Greater focus on water survival skills and swimming competencies, through a stronger emphasis on participants’ practice time and skills progression.
  • An online quiz has also been added to the enhanced version. This will help participants consolidate their knowledge of water safety, including a better understanding of the differences between swimming in a pool and in other water conditions. Upon completion of the online quiz and practical assessment, participants will receive an electronic certificate.
  • Assessment Protocol – Instead of assessing separate skill-sets, participants are now required to demonstrate relevant skills in a sequence that mirrors water survival situations more realistically. This will allow participants to showcase their competencies more effectively and efficiently, and ensure participants have fully mastered the skills imparted.
  • Professional Development and Certification of Instructors – Instructors are now required to renew their certification every three years with mandatory hours of continuous coach education to ensure that they are up-to-date with content knowledge and pedagogical practices.

    Summary of update to Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 1

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 2

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 3

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 4 (bronze)

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 5 (silver)

Swimsafer 2.0 Test Criteria – Stage 6 (gold)

Credit: All information of Swimsafer 2.0 are taken from Sport Singapore Swimsafer 2.0 Instructor’s Manual